Glocks

Posted: May 15, 2010 in Gun Choice, Uncategorized

I hate to hear someone say: “Well, I don’t like Glocks because they don’t have a safety; I’ve heard they go off sometimes.” BULL!!

In my opinion the Glock is among the safest, if not the safest, handgun on the planet!  The Glock has numerous internal safeties, which are deactivated when the trigger is pressed. If you do not pull the trigger, the Glock will not fire, period!

A group in New York took a Glock up in a helicopter and dropped it onto the hard ground.  Not only did it not break, but it did not fire either.  An external safety is just another step you have to take before you can fire in defense of your life.  Are you certain you’ll have that kind of time?  I’m not.

Practice basic gun safety and “indexing” when you handle a gun.  “Indexing” means you do not touch the trigger until you are ready to fire no matter the circumstances.

A gun is capable of deadly force so it gets special treatment and there are other things like that in our lives. You know that if you press the brake pedal in your automobile there will be consequences so you don’t do it unless you really want to slow down or stop. But if you drove with your foot on or hovering over the break, sooner or later you’d end up hitting the break when you shouldn’t. Depending upon where your automobile is at the time, that could be catastrophic to you or others. Does that mean you want a safety on your brakes? I don’t think so. You just keep your foot away from the brake pedal until you want to stop.

I’m in a high-risk industry, and I bet my life on the Glock pistol on my side every day.  Trust me, The Glock cannot be beat on any level!  They are tough, safe and dependable.

Comments
  1. StJohn Fletcher says:

    Since using a Sig Sauer P226, 9mm in the military this is my go to benchmark weapon. Recently Joe gifted me a Glock 17 9mm. And I immediately liked the weapon. I found it very similar to the P226. After putting some rounds down range I think I would go ahead and put the Glock ahead of the Sig in an urban environment being lighter very accurate plus no external hammer or hammer drop to snag up. I have medium sized hand and the glock fits perfectly. I always found the Sig favored a larger hand. Thank you Joe, you have a Glock convert.

  2. Mary says:

    How do you think the Smith & Wesson M&P 9mm compares to the Glock 9mm?

Leave a Reply

